Five Planning Commissioners Resign

Council Adopts New Conflict of Interest Policy; Five Planning Commissioners Immediately Resign

On Monday night, after months of consideration and debate, the Lafayette City Council on a 3-2 vote adopted a revised conflict of interest policy for Planning Commissioners and Design Review Commissioners. Whereas the old policy allowed commissioners with professional conflicts of interest to recuse themselves from certain policy discussions and decisions, the new policy demands that they resign from the commission. For full details, click item 9A here.

The fallout has been swift. As of now, five planning commissioners (Ateljevich, Chastain, Lovitt, Gutzwiller, Curtin) have resigned due to the new conflict of interest policy. Their resignation letters are here.

Since it is now impossible to achieve a quorum, the City of Lafayette is effectively without a Planning Commission. The City has therefore canceled the April 2nd meeting of the Lafayette Planning Commission.

To chart a path forward, Mayor Tatzin has suggested that the City Council convene a meeting next Monday, April 2nd at 7P to discuss how to move forward, e.g., should the Council quickly appoint a new PC? Should the Council sit as the PC and meet every Monday evening (alternating as CC and PC) until a qualified set of planning commissioners can be identified and selected? Should the DRC be temporarily or permanently appointed to serve as the PC?

Staff is currently checking with City Councilmembers to determine their availability for a 4/2/18 meeting. An agenda will be posted once availability is determined.